Out of a large and growing number of literary prizes in Austria that are not awarded by public bodies, the Ingeborg Bachmann Prize of the Tage der deutschsprachigen Literatur (Days of German-Language Literature), founded in 1976, enjoys the highest attention as a once-a-year central media event, as it is broadcast live on television by ORF to the present day. With the awarding of the prize to Tex Rubinowitz in 2014 and to the Berlin-based British author Sharon Dodua Otoo in 2016, the prize made visible a demonstrative opening up both in terms of genre boundaries and the productive handling of diversity. With the Theodor Kramer Prize for Writing in Resistance and Exile, which has been awarded since 2001, a historically critical frame of reference was created on the one hand, while at the same time the attitude and fate of the prize winner is also to be honored with regard to the contemporary world.
In 2016, the annual Austrian Book Prize for current new book publications was awarded for the first time (organized by the Federal Ministry for Arts, Culture, Civil Service and Sports Austria, the Main Association of the Austrian Book Trade and the Vienna Chamber of Labor). The first prize winner was Friederike Mayröcker.

Current calls for entries: